Victorian initiatives recognised with Resilient Australia Awards

7 October 2021

Winners of the 2021 Victorian Resilient Australia Awards were announced this week, celebrating initiatives that build whole-of-community resilience to disasters and emergencies.

Now in its 22nd year, the awards were open to all Australians and recognised outstanding contributions in each state or territory across six categories: business, community, government, local government, photography and school.

This year’s winners were:

  • Government Award winner: Resilient Rochester Project, a collaboration between the Rochester community, Campaspe Shire Council, Victoria State Emergency Service and North Central Catchment Management Authority.
  • Community Award winner: ‘Journey of Hope’ by Save the Children
  • Photography Award winner (people’s choice): ‘Just Another Monday Night’ by Jacqueline Quaine

This year’s highly commended community awards were:

  • Resilience for Seniors in the Face of COVID-19’ by University of the Third Age (U3A)
  • Youth Project’s ‘Coordinated Pandemic Response’
  • Australian Islamic Centre & Human Appeal

Victorian recipients were announced at an online ceremony hosted by Emergency Management Commissioner Andrew Crisp.

“This year we have seen some inspiring examples of community resilience across the State. From the ongoing challenges posed by COVID-19, to the June storm and flooding event, and even the recent earthquake, I have been consistently impressed by the strength of community spirit and the willingness to help each other’ said the Commissioner.

“We had an outstanding field of entries and were proud to celebrate our finalists and winners via this online event.”

To find out more about the winners and their initiatives, see 2021 Resilient Australia Award winners. (External link)

The awards are sponsored by the Australian Government in partnership with the states and territories and managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR).

Winners from Victoria may now be eligible for the National Awards which will be presented by the AIDR in December 2021.